web analytics

The national team for Dota 2 representing Sri Lanka at the IESF World Championship has been named after selections were held through online and LAN qualifiers. The International Esports Federation is the global governing body for Electronic Sports, consisting of over 40 national Esports member federations. The Sri Lanka Esports Association, founded by Gamer.LK, has been a paying member since 2010.

The National Dota 2 Team:

  • Isuru ‘ Deathwish’ Lokuge (C)
  • Heshan ‘ Sathan’ Sanjaya
  • Kalindu ‘ MorningStar’ Pathirana
  • Kaveesha ‘NoobKavi’ Kagasuru
  • Dinuka ‘6ixx’ Perera

Qualifiers were held online, with the finals being played LAN. For those following the Dota 2 scene, there were some questions that cropped up regarding players taking part online while not being in Sri Lanka. Although the rule from SLESA is that qualifiers for international events require all players to be present at LAN, all clan heads of SLESA came together to grant special permission to Mirsab ‘Paradoxx’ Hassan to play remotely. However, due to unavailability of Mirsab for the main event in December, tournament organisers deemed it unfair that the roster representing Sri Lanka and the roster playing in the qualifiers was different. Therefore affected matches were replayed with actual rosters. The 5 members from x3’s Victorious Secret went on to win the grand final and thus confirming their place in the national team representing the nation in Seoul from December 11th to 15th.

In partnership with GamerTech by MAS the team will be sporting a jersey that uses ocean plastic, identical to the those worn by the national cricket team. Ramesh Liyanage and Nisal Weerakoon will also be travelling to represent SLESA and in capacity as manager respectively.

Share this