Shoutbox

Last 5 Shouts:

SRgamer

Yesterday at 07:31:19 am
i need a team to make a android game using unity. If you like to join send  a gmail to [email protected].  Also I need  to make  android app.  I have  the idea that mean basic concept to make them. So if u like  notify mee.

Julieped

November 16, 2017, 11:22:14 pm
This message is posted here using XRumer + XEvil 4.0
XEvil 4.0 is a revolutionary application that can bypass almost any anti-botnet protection.
Captcha Recognition Google (ReCaptcha-1, ReCaptcha-2), Facebook, Yandex, VKontakte, Captcha Com and over 8.4 million other types!
You read this - it

Julieped

November 16, 2017, 11:22:12 pm
This message is posted here using XRumer + XEvil 4.0
XEvil 4.0 is a revolutionary application that can bypass almost any anti-botnet protection.
Captcha Recognition Google (ReCaptcha-1, ReCaptcha-2), Facebook, Yandex, VKontakte, Captcha Com and over 8.4 million other types!
You read this - it

Julieped

November 14, 2017, 04:40:17 am
This message is posted here using XRumer + XEvil 4.0
XEvil 4.0 is a revolutionary application that can bypass almost any anti-botnet protection.
Captcha Recognition Google (ReCaptcha-1, ReCaptcha-2), Facebook, Yandex, VKontakte, Captcha Com and over 8.4 million other types!
You read this - it

Julieped

November 14, 2017, 04:40:14 am
This message is posted here using XRumer + XEvil 4.0
XEvil 4.0 is a revolutionary application that can bypass almost any anti-botnet protection.
Captcha Recognition Google (ReCaptcha-1, ReCaptcha-2), Facebook, Yandex, VKontakte, Captcha Com and over 8.4 million other types!
You read this - it

Show 50 latest
Members
  • Total Members: 19912
  • Latest: A27
Stats
  • Total Posts: 389408
  • Total Topics: 32145
  • Online Today: 200
  • Online Ever: 385
  • (November 12, 2017, 08:13:02 pm)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 75
Total: 76

Author Topic: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC  (Read 6227 times)

Offline UnKnOwN

  • Pwnage
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • 9
  • GO ALL OUT!!!
    • View Profile
How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« on: August 29, 2010, 12:45:35 pm »
OK guys its my first time putting up together something like this so bear with me  (Y)

PCs now days need a lot of power..Things like the GPU and the CPU need a lot of power to work properly. So we need a better power supplies and we all know how costly power supplies are in our country. In this guide I will show you brothers how to use two power supplies to power one PC

Calculations to remember Watts=Volts * Amperage

Use exaples to understand better

First of all use eXtreme Power Supply Calculatorhttp://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp to calculate the maximum amount of power that your PC will draw. Remember to select 100% load. What we are interested is in the Minimum PSU Wattage thats the maximum power your PC will draw that means every component is at max load..And remember this will never happen in real life usage..
 ex:- My Q8200 @ stock + HD 5870 + Hard Drive + DVD + Cooling + Mobo and every component use just 350W at max load.
Then you need to find how much power the  CPU and the GPU take(these are the main components that put a heavy load on the 12v rail). Q8200 uses 95W and the HD 5870 uses 188W  :D

Now to choose two power supplies
If you already have a PSU and you are looking to upgrade ur GPU and then finds out that your PSU is not enough. Try to find how much your PSU can deliver. See how many amps are listed under 12v rail on the psu label. They might not be true on a generic but you atleast get a idea. Then see how many watts the your PC uses before upgrading.

ex- A generic 300W psu came with my casing and that safely powered a Q8200 and a 9500GT along with all other components. So I can safely assume that generic is able deliver around 225W without any probs. Then I decide to upgrade for a HD 5870 and use a dual psu setup so I buy a FSP 300W EGS for 2500

Lets say you have no PSUs at hand then the best bet is to buy 2 FSP 300w or 350w from EGS prices 2500 and 2750. And never assume a PSU to deliver its maximum labeled power. So I take 280W for the 300W and 330W for the 350W. So two 300W FSP PSUs combined will give 600W but like I said earlier assuming they deliver 280W we can safely say the dual PSU setup will deliver 560W..And two 350W will deliver 660W  (Y) and that is just for 5500rs.  ;D

Now how to distribute the load
Let one PSU power the motherbaord and the GPU. We will call this primary psu. This is important because some of the power to the GPU is supplied by the motherboard and the other is supplied by the PCIE POWER CONNECTOR. So dont connect the secondary PSUs PCIE power connector to the GPU cause this MIGHT cause problems. Use the secondary to power CPU and HDD, Fans and stuff.


So Now to the real stuff



Heres a image of the motherboard power connector
When you press the turn on button on the case PSU is turned on by shorting PSU ON(14th pin green color) and Ground (15th pin BLACK)...The prob arises when powering the second PSU.We can just put a wire or something to short it but then the PSU will turn on as soon as power is supplied. So the solution? Use a relay

Go here to understand more about relays - http://electronics.howstuffworks.com/relay1.htm
So a relays is a magnetic switch.

Go to a hardware store and buy a 12V 4pin relay. Pinouts may vary but search for the part no and you will find the datasheet. Now you need to get a Molex power extender cable



Now connect that to a free Molex cable coming from your primary psu and cut the yellow and black cable in the extender and wire it like this



Remember to insulate your soldering with some glue.

Thanks for reading. If people are happy with this i will create a guide on how to find out how much power your PSU can really deliver on the 12v rail.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 01:11:57 pm by UnKnOwN »
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least.
—Unknown Author

Offline db

  • Death Company
  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
  • 95
  • Keep Calm and Listen to Trance
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 10:13:28 pm »
tnx for da help :) next time i dont need to spend money on a fancy psu xD

Masaru ( Victory )

  • Guest
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2010, 10:53:33 pm »
yp...............Thanks fr the post :)

Offline UnKnOwN

  • Pwnage
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • 9
  • GO ALL OUT!!!
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2010, 09:01:33 am »
Thanks for the replies guyz ;)
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least.
—Unknown Author

Offline Scylla

  • Uber Pwnage
  • ****
  • Posts: 631
  • 10
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2010, 10:09:32 am »
But if you take two 80+ PSUs for this, as a combination it waste 40+ electricity as heat at the load levels. So this affects your electricity bill I guess.  
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 10:28:21 am by Scylla »

Offline UnKnOwN

  • Pwnage
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • 9
  • GO ALL OUT!!!
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2010, 11:28:41 am »
But if you take two 80+ PSUs for this, as a combination it waste 40+ electricity as heat at the load levels. So this affects your electricity bill I guess. 

I dont think its like that..
PSUs get their best efficiency at low to mid load(30%-75%). And I dont think it will affect the electricity bill..Lets take a scenario like this

1 - A single PSU is powering a Q8200(95w) and 155W GPU (only these two to make it easier). So the psu need to output 250W. And lets say it has a efficiency of 80%(to the the AC power draw is
(DC Output) / (AC Input) = Efficiency
250 / x = 80/100
80x/80 = 25000/80
x = 312
So it draws 312W from the wall socket.

2. Lets say one psu powers the CPU and other the GPU.
1st psu - CPU (95w)
2nd psu - GPU (155w)

1st PSU at 80% efficiency draws 118W
2nd PSU at 80% efficiency draws 193W

So the both combined take 311W. Therotically its the same. Dont you guys just love maths.

I dont get why I get minus karma for doin nothing :(

 
« Last Edit: August 30, 2010, 11:30:54 am by UnKnOwN »
The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least.
—Unknown Author

Offline Psycho Mantis

  • Trained Noob
  • **
  • Posts: 197
  • 1
  • Because overkill is underrated
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2011, 10:08:38 am »
cool two power supplies in one pc??
“If you are going through hell, keep going.”

Offline D4R

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • 132
  • Death is the road. Life is the traveller !
    • View Profile
    • Great deals on Amazon
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2011, 10:55:48 am »

I dont get why I get minus karma for doin nothing :(

 

+2 karma frm me fr th post. thnx :)

My formula for living is quite simple. I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night.
In between, I occupy myself as best I can

Intel Core i5 4570 @3.20Ghz | MSI GTX 760 Twin Frozr Gaming OC 2GB| 8GB DDR3 GSkill 1333Mhz | Gigabyte H81M-S2PV |Logitech G35 7.1 Gaming Headset | Logitech G400S Gaming Mouse |Samsung E2220X 22" 1080p LED Backlit | Cooler Master GXII 550W PSU | Cooler Master X Dream i117 CPU Cooler | Antec GX700 | Windows 8 Pro 64bit
Great Deals On Amazon And GMG:
http://amazonawesomedeals.blogspot.com/
http://www.greenmangaming.com/?gmgr=josivubo

My Steam - http://steamcommunity.com/id/d4r
if anyone has sent me a request and I haven't accepted, please let me know your id. many russian scammers send request every day and it's hard to figure out which one to accept

Offline LeoN

  • PnX-Gaming
  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 1905
  • 79
  • Free Your Mind...
    • View Profile
    • Phoenix GaminG
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2011, 11:34:45 am »
+1 for your math skill & hard work..
« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 12:23:50 pm by LeoN »

☜☆☞   ☬ Intel i7 4970K OC 4.8GHz @ 1.35V | MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC | 8GB G.Skill Sniper x 2 @ 2000Mhz | MSI GTX 780 TI | Seasonic X-850 | CM Seidon 120V P+P | OCZ Vertex 4 128GB | Samsung 2TB F3 | Samsung BR DSH-B123 | Raven RV01 | Logitech G19 | Logitech G700 | Logitech Z-5500D | Logitech G930 | NZXT Sentry | Roccat Apuri | Samsung PX2370  ☜☆☞

Offline Land[of]Death^

  • z.Gaming
  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 1884
  • 63
  • THEY FINALLY LET ME SCOPE
    • View Profile
    • Xiphos eSports
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2011, 11:46:22 am »
+1 for teh maths! :D

pavithra_uk

  • Guest
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2011, 06:28:42 pm »
problem is if one +12v line and other psu's +12v line mixed and there were even .1v differance can make huge power drain from higher to lower..

so, before doing this, make sure one 12v rail and other 12v power rail doesn't mix (eg: gpu power and cpu power)

Offline muharizj

  • Pwnage
  • ***
  • Posts: 415
  • 3
  • [Questions? Complaints? +94777321118]
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2011, 06:01:04 am »

I dont get why I get minus karma for doin nothing :(
 

awesome post with "maths" ;) - u got plus karma from me bro
Everything that's ever to be said, has been said; Everything else, is just another Cliche

2600k @ 4.5Ghz | DDR3 16GB 8-8-8-24-T1 | MSI P67A-GD65 |  GTX-580-2-WAY-SLI | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion | 120GB SSD Intel X25m | 4TB HDDs | Logitech Z5500 | Logitech G930 | Razer Blackwidow Ultimate | R.A.T.9 | HAF-X | Thermaltake TR2 1200W |Dell 30" @ 2560x1600

Offline hajasreen

  • Immortal
  • *****
  • Posts: 1385
  • 8
  • Mr.Blue Thunder
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2011, 12:12:08 pm »
welsaid dude +1 :D but r u sure it wnt shortcurcit?

Do not hijack someones thread! Its their thread, if you have a problem start your own!

 The Gamer Magazine

Offline smurf

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • 1
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2011, 05:31:46 pm »
wow! nice! this would've taken some time to do! +1 :)

@hajasreen-i bet you could use some +1's too. -,-

Offline Exodus

  • Trained Noob
  • **
  • Posts: 115
  • 0
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use Two Power Supplies To Power A One PC
« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2011, 09:13:53 pm »
Bro what about cards that draw power only from the motherboard and have no extra connections to the PSU? Is there another method for such cards?